Grow Your Blog 2014

Tools of the trade 2 140124

Update February 15th, 2014–hello, and thanks for stopping by. The winner of Artful Blogging issue is Karen at Todolwen–if you haven’t already visited, make it a point to do so–you will be glad you did.

Hi, there…I’m Wanda.

Welcome to my post for Vicki Boster’s 2014 Grow Your Blog party. I’m glad you stopped by, and I hope you will stay long enough to read through to the end of this post (because you never know what you might find…)!

I’ve been blogging since late 2010. Initially my interest was more experiment than commitment. I admired the writing, creativity, and visual content I found at other blog sites and wondered, could I do something similar? A bit of investigation later, I discovered that blogger.com and wordpress.com (among others) provided easy, user-friendly, and free(!) platforms for blogging. Most of the sites I was following at the time used blogger.com so that seemed to be a logical starting place for me. I don’t recall the circumstances, but blogger.com was experiencing significant enough problems in early 2011 that I decided to investigate other options. It wasn’t long before I signed up with WordPress.com and transferred my (very limited) content to their service—and I’m glad to report that I’ve been a happy camper ever since!

I’m preaching to the choir here, I know, because I suspect that most visitors to this post already know how difficult it is to maintain a blog. What is the theme of your blog? How often do you plan to post? What if you miss a post? or a week or a month’s worth? How about when you want to post but your mind won’t send a single creative word to your fingers? Or you post an off-theme post?

I don’t pretend to know the answers to those questions, but I can, without doubt, say “I’ve been there.” Anyone who thinks blogging is easy probably hasn’t written more than a handful of posts. I’ve enjoyed months when I posted almost daily, and I’ve struggled through one, two, sometimes even three months, when I couldn’t string together enough words to make a single credible post.

As 2014 dawned, I finally decided to make peace with my blog. Instead of feeling guilty when lack of inspiration or time prevents a post, I will celebrate each post I do complete. I’m trying to be selective about weekly commitments; these, in turn, are supplemented by a few favorite monthly memes. I’m also planning to participate in a couple of month-long posting events, one that is photo-centric and another that is more about writing than images.

So, in the spirit of “Grow Your Blog,” I invite you to “follow” my blog if the foregoing is of interest to you.

Meantime, I am offering a giveaway to anyone who leaves a comment to this post. My giveaway is the winter edition of Artful Blogging, a quarterly periodical that provides eye and inspiration candy for bloggers. This issue features 17 bloggers, all of whom engage in some combination of writing, photography, and artistry. Printed on heavy paper with high quality images, this quarterly publication will, first of all, engage your attention for several hours. Later, it’s a magazine you will be pleased to display on your coffee table—inviting your guests to inquire about your interest in blogging. I will announce the winner here on February 15th, so check back then to see whether this lovely magazine will be headed in your direction.

Artful Blogging002

42 thoughts on “Grow Your Blog 2014

  1. Reviewing being a newbie blogger I missed some minor details like making comments… But Vicki’s Grow Your Blog Party entries are 600 bloggers. My reading was a little tasking. I wanted to read and get to know the girls so I did read everyone’s bio 24 hours left to go now I just review at much as I can. If you like come visit My site http://overboardcreations.blogspot.com/and contact info is http://ovr_brd@yahoo.com I believe inspiration comes from all facets of life even knowing the great people out there with wisdom and knowledge the do’s and don’ts and even the wonders of life from a personal point of view. I liked you following you on goggle connect and Bloglovin you. hope to see you in the cyber neighborhood I am new to blogging so I don’t have a lot posted because I got side tract with GYB party. Kind of felt it was important to have some one read my silly chatter. I can’t remember a time I didn’t dabble in something creative. I tried a little of everything. But, my new love these days is Card making I just love it.

  2. Hi Wanda! Always love coming here….think I’ve been here pretty much from the beginning but it was lovely to have a recap! And it’s so true, blogging can fill you with guilt, love your idea of celebrating the completed posts. Looking forward to seeing what plans you have in store. Happy week to you. 🙂

  3. Hi wanda! I’m visiting from Vicki’s GYB party. Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog. Your blog is beautiful! i’m still finding my way around blogging and i’m not very tech savvy so it’s taking me awhile. I too struggle with words to post and I hate to just post about my jewelry although that is the reason I started a blog. My life is in sort of an upheaval these days but i’m trying to post something of interest other than just jewelry. It’s nice to meet others who struggle at times also. Thanks for you honesty And I would certainly love to be in cluded in your give away drawing. Seee again soon!!

  4. I so identify with your blogging thoughts, Wanda….sorry I haven’t stopped by for a while..it’s been a lovely catch up,
    Alison xx

  5. Hello there! Poppin’ in along the blog party route, and I am having camera envy at the moment! Hope you are enjoying the party and hope you’ll stop by for a visit. I LOVE ARTFUL BLOGGIN’…just sayin’! Aloha

  6. Hello Wanda
    It’s so lovely to meet you at Vicki’s GYB party!
    I agree with all you said about blogging – we all have times when, for one reason or another our posting isn’t as frequent. Sometimes I have a ‘dry’ spell – I don’t feel like talking or playing but I just get on with life. Eventually there is a ‘spark’ and I’m back in the flow again! It’s good to know that others are the same!

    I enjoy photography too – it’s a big part of any bloggers life I feel!

    Your giveaway is wonderful! I can’t buy those mags here so I’m thrilled to have a chance to win one – they are full of inspiration!

    I’ll be back once the party winds down!

    I’m now following you!

    Please come over and meet me and enter my giveaway if it interests you.

    Hugs
    Shane

  7. I like the look of your blog. Can’t wait to see more.

    Thanks for sharing your blog. I’m still trying to make it to all of the blogs (GYB). What a list! please check out my embroidery blog is you are so inclined. (I’m in the 1st set of the GYB links.)

    aprilsongstress

  8. I can fully identify with many of your thoughts on blogging. We all struggle for inspiration from time to time, but it’s good to be honest I think. I’ve just started plodding my way through the GYB party – hope you’re enjoying it too!

  9. As a blog-follower of yours for quite some time, I’m happy to be in the draw for that lovely looking publication. But I will always be happy to pop in here anyway :).

  10. Hi Wanda, I love your blog, having found you with the GYB hop. I too have a keen interest in photography, and we all certainly have struggled with the same blogging issues (writer’s block, etc.) I would love to be a Follower but am not familiar with Gravatar (is it only for WordPress?) and am not on Google +. I’ll try again and see if I can figure out a way to follow you… I hope you’ll stop by my blog as well and enter my Giveaway .

    • Linda, did you see the “Follow” button at the top right of my sidebar? I was under the impression that “worked” regardless of blog platform, etc., but it’s hard for me to be sure of that from inside my own blog. Regardless, thank you for stopping by…I’m off right now to check out your blog.

  11. I’m not going to ask you to post that lovely magazine over here, but I am dropping by to say that I’m glad our blogs found each other way back when. I can remember buying one of the first copies of Artful Blogging as a treat ..before I had even thought about blogging myself. that’s a while ago now

  12. Hi Wanda, Just stopping by from the GYB party. Your photography is fabulous and I love Peaches–reminds me of my orange mackerel tabby, Frazier, who shared my life in the 80’s and 90’s. Would love to win the magazine. Stop by my blog, if you have time, and enter my giveaway, too. southpawstitcher.blogspot.com

  13. Hi Wanda, I’m visiting from the grow your blog party 🙂 Your blog content is a nice change from what I usually read so I look forward to more posts from you! Your photography also is really nice – I hope to learn more about photography this year ^^

  14. Hi Wanda,

    I’m visiting from the Grow Your Blog party. It is so nice to meet you. Your photography is gorgeous. I just love the photo you took of Peaches! You are very talented! I am a new follower. I plan to look around a bit more and then be on my way to visit the others. I do hope you will stop by for a visit and enter my giveaway. Have a wonderful weekend! Hugs – Donna

  15. I love the name of your blog! I too struggle from time to time with feeling like I’m not posting enough, or don’t have anything interesting enough to post. I’m looking forward to seeing more from you.

  16. I’m visiting through the GYB party. I think we all go through stages with our blog and it evolves as our lives change. I enjoyed browsing your wonderful photography and would be pleased to be entered in your giveaway.

  17. Hi Wanda – an old fan here! I always look forward to your posts. You write so well, and your topics are always interesting! I hope this “grow your blog” party brings you many new followers! They are in for a treat!

  18. Yes, I could very easily get hooked on your blog. I love photography and I enjoy your comments. My blog is similar in nature, though, I think you would find it much more casual. That said, I am a new follower and would love for you to come visit, any time.

    Andrea @ From The Sol

  19. Hi Wanda. It’s nice to meet you at Vicki’s party. I enjoy reading your blog and would love to be entered in your giveaway. I will continue to enjoy your blog. I’m at wirednan.blogspot.ca

  20. Hello Wanda, thank you for visiting my blog. I’m just starting out on the blog hop and your my first. Love your photography. I’ll be popping back. would love to be entered into your give away.

  21. Wonderful post Wanda! I always love stopping by to see what you’re up to! I love the idea of celebrating each finished post! Let me add too, that you don’t have to put my name in the drawing. I love this magazine and buy each issue. You’re very sweet to give a copy away. I know whoever wins it will enjoy it!

  22. Good morning-I am just getting started on the blog hop and decided not to begin at the beginning. So you are my first blog and I love your pics and your attitude about posts. I can totally relate. Artful Blogging is a fun mag though I don’t often buy it for myself. Try to pick it up when others resell it.

  23. Hi there,
    my name is Karen B. I am a volunteer for Vicki and would like to welcome you to todays GYB and wish you a wonderful time and many followers.
    Hugs,
    Karen B.

  24. Wanda – well, I don’t count as “new growth” but coming here is always a treat. I like your idea of celebrating each completed post instead of being driven by the “shoulds”. Something I am currently struggling with. And what a generous giveaway offer.

Leave a Reply

