Sunday morning respite

140114 Sunday Morning

January 12th, 9:00 a.m.

Sunday mornings, for me, are an all too brief respite between an errand- or project-filled Saturday, a Sunday afternoon jam-packed with necessary household chores and self-imposed “recipe of the week” experimentation, and the imminent workaday Monday. I prize these precious minutes, usually just an hour or two, with nothing more pressing than a hot cup of coffee, the morning news shows, the bestseller list from the newspaper, and, if I’m really lucky, DH’s pancakes.

This week…
…the pancakes were frozen leftovers, but a treat nonetheless; bonus—no cleanup!
…indoor and outdoor chores were less demanding than expected
…the recipe of the week was easy and tasty and, with a couple of tweaks, will be a keeper for sure

Best of all, I had some free time available for creative pursuits including this post and its accompanying photo/texture combination. For me, today was close to a perfect Sunday…and I hope yours was too.

Shared for Alexa’s “Simply A Moment,” a monthly opportunity to describe a moment—a minute or two or ten—of life. Also posted for Kim Klassen’s “Texture Tuesday.” The image was processed with two of Kim’s textures: Luminous (2011) set to Overlay at 20% and Be Still (2012) set to Multiply at 60%. 
12 thoughts on “Sunday morning respite

  1. Wanda, I am so far behind, but I will catchup. My Sundays don’t have the structure yours do, but they are just as enjoyable. Please take care, Bill

  2. Oh that photo does beckon one to put their feet up and snuggle in for a good read. Great shot – thanks for sharing your moment.

  3. Even though I am retired (at least for the moment) Sunday mornings still feel special to me, and I spend them in a similar way. I loved reading about and seeing a glimpse of yours. And I love your coffee mug! You were doing exactly what it advised you.

    • And just to say how lovely to see this in the Linky, and you are always most welcome! I am going to see what I can do tomorrow to make my Sunday morning as stress-free and simply pleasureable as possible – thank-you!

  4. I have to say that retirement is like a week-long Sunday respite 🙂 But I do remember from my days of working how precious those moments can be. I like the fact that you created this ode to those moments – recognizing them in both word and image. It is when we consciously recognize them that they become even more powerful.

  5. Lovely to read about your perfect Sunday morning. We’ve found lately that the weekends can almost be busier than the weekdays, albeit in a different way, and this sounds perfect. Lovely image too, and gorgeous mug. 🙂

Leave a Reply

