Summer Goals

Armbrust Diptych

The accompanying diptych is the before and after of an editing session to repair a nearly century-old photograph of my maternal grandfather. This photo is a treasure to me because, until a couple of weeks ago, I didn’t know this or several related images existed.

Probably the most interesting outcome of my recent trip to our family’s hometown is that I was able to ship back two banker’s boxes of family photographs and memorabilia that were removed from my sister’s home after she passed away. The photos and accompanying mementos encompass everything from early 20th century photos to the very blurriest of 70s/80s/90s snapshots. Most of the latter aren’t worth saving, but there are some genuine family heirlooms among the former.

As you will see from the self-imposed timeline outlined below, I expect this project will continue well beyond the summer months—in fact, I will consider it a success if I am able to organize and digitize the scan-worthy images by summer’s end . This week’s list is what I hope will be the eventual outcome of this project:

Curate the collection (by Labor Day 2013)

  • Sort through everything, organizing it according to our family tree, and then digitize those items worth saving.
  • Use Photoshop to repair damage from age and general wear and tear.
  • Provide siblings with a DVD that contains a curated collection of family photos and memorabilia.

Research and record (yearend 2013)

  • Use ancestry.com and similar resources to obtain information and documents related to our family members.
  • Add the results to our existing Family Tree Maker database.

Document (2014)

  • Develop an annotated narrative of the photographs, memorabilia, and official documents to share with immediate and extended family members, as appropriate.
  • Combine the results of these separate efforts into some interesting and meaningful scrapbook pates. As a memory keeper, I am always on the lookout for photos and complementary memorabilia that can be creatively captured to a scrapbook page.
  • Merge all of this (and some earlier work) into picture/memory books to share with my siblings and their families.

All in all, I think I have my work cut out for me!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
Posted for Week 20 of Moorea Seal’s 52 Lists project, an opportunity for list addicts like me to join up with like-minded bloggers to celebrate their list-keeping tendencies. Moorea posts a fresh prompt on Tuesday—check it out when you can.

6 thoughts on “Summer Goals

  1. Wanda, that sounds like a very very ambitious undertaking but I am sure it is one that you will accomplish. Hopefully as you are going thru the process you will share moments, and a sneak peek from time to time. Please take care, Bill

  2. Oh my goodness, what a difference you have made. And how lovely of you to want to make aDVD for family members. Your organisation is most impressive :).

  3. What an exciting (and rather daunting) project! Your photo-editing skills are quite impressive – and it sounds like you will get lots and lots of practice over the course of this project. I look forward to seeing the results.

  4. Wanda, you did an amazing job on that photo. It’s a beautiful restoration. Your project is ambitious, but how rewarding once it’s done! Having a list and timeline is a great first step. Knowing what I do about you, I have no doubt you’ll meet your goal.

  5. You are very clever! That’s definitely a job worth doing.

    I have a passion for family history too, ever since I was a little girl – at the minute I’m afraid to sign up for Ancestry.com because I don’t think I’d have enough hours in the day!

Leave a Reply

