Am I compulsive?

Um…yeah, probably. But I’m guessing at least a few of you can relate.

For me, there’s always more to do than there is time to accomplish it. That is especially true for discretionary (creative) pursuits involving photography and digital scrapbooking. I can’t seem to ignore enrollment notices for Photoshop, Lightroom, and similar classes so I usually sign up for more classes than I can reasonably complete. And, naturally, it isn’t long after a given class starts that I find myself hopelessly behind, unable to keep up with even the downloads never mind the actual work! Still, since I’ve paid good money for each course, (this is the compulsive part) I want to save the content I’m especially interested in for some, probably imaginary, point in the future when I hope to be able to explore and experiment with the many techniques presented in these classes.

As a result, I have binders-full of paper printouts (all nicely organized, thank you!) documenting my course endeavors over the last couple of years. Lately, however, it seems course content is more often presented in video format rather than written tutorial. That presents a new challenge because access to video content ranges from “forever” access on the vendor’s website, direct download, access during the class session only, and additional fee after-class access. So, what’s a girl to do?

When it comes to not knowing how to do something computer-wise, I firmly believe I am not the first person to face a particular problem and, if I look long and hard enough, I will eventually find a solution. It’s usually a matter of cobbling together bits and pieces of information from various sources and experimenting as I go until I finally find something that works for me.

Looking for a way to download video class content was exactly that. I tried a number of different search terms, watched a few videos, and read related message board posts. All of that eventually led me to Video Download Capture. Like many software products these days, interested users can download a trial version. Based on the reviews I’d read and the help tools on the site (quick start guide, video demo, and FAQs), I decided to give it a try. I was pleased to discover that the trial was fully featured and easy to use. It didn’t take long for me to become a paying customer—the download process is easy and fast (e.g., it doesn’t take as long to download a video as it takes it to watch it, and you can rename downloads to suit your own needs). At a cost of $40, this may not be a suitable solution for everyone, but the trial download provides an opportunity to evaluate this product’s features compared to free- and shareware products that may also be available.

A few cautions: First, though none of the videos I’ve downloaded thus far have obvious copyright notices, I believe course-related videos probably do enjoy copyright protection, and I have no intention of distributing them to anyone. Second, since I’ve only used this product to download from Vimeo and YouTube, I have no idea how well it will work with other video sites. Finally, video files are large so it won’t be long before a few 40- to 70- to 100MB downloads begin to take up significant hard drive space.

Posted for the Third Thursday Challenge at How to Feather an Empty Nest. Check out Brenda’s site and know that you are welcome to add your own take on creative challenges—photography, photographic post-processing, writing, or whatever. I’ll look forward to reading (and learning) from you.

3 thoughts on “Am I compulsive?

  1. Wanda my saving grace is, I have you for a friend, and if I truly truly need something of this nature you will take me by the hand or nose, and lead me thru it. Your ability to provide clear and concise information on a variety of topics is amazing and greatly appreciated. — Bill

  2. Wanda – I’m so glad you were able to post your helpful article to the Third Thursday Challenge. Your product reviews are always so well-written and contain information that should prove extremely useful to anyone having a similar question. Your attention to detail and ability to present information in a straight-forward manner is much appreciated. And yes, we do share that compulsive personality trait. Thanks again for sharing your solution to the video download conundrum.

Leave a Reply

