Pretty in pink

The Texture Tuesday prompt this week involved the color pink. After looking around the house for subject matter, I concluded that I’m not as much of a pink person as I thought. Fortunately for me, Mother Nature is a huge fan of pink so it didn’t take long to find a perfectly pink flower to use for this challenge.

However, I must have been a bit bothered by my un-pink-ness because I spent my lunch time today searching for tidbits of information about the social and psychological aspects of the color. Here’s some of what I discovered:

  • Pink is often associated with love and passion because it stimulates energy and can increase blood pressure, respiration, heartbeat, and pulse rate.
  • It has been used in prison cells to reduce erratic behavior and in opposing team locker rooms to increase passivity and reduce aggression.

Note: do these first two seem contradictory to you? arousal vs. passivity? what do I know?

  • Pink makes us crave sugar. (I really don’t need encouragement for that!)
  • Companies and brands associated with pink: Victoria’s Secret, Mary Kay, T-Mobile, and Pepto-Bismol, among others.
  • Contradictory phrases: “tickled pink” = to be happy; “pink slip” = laid off from work.
  • First Lady Mamie Eisenhower loved the color so much that it became known as “Mamie pink.”
  • After trying to tell the difference between boy and girl twins, the Little Women character Laurie (eventually Jo’s husband) suggested using a blue ribbon for the boy and a pink one for the girl.
  • Pinking shears may have derived their name from the scalloped edges of pink flowers such as carnations.

This is, admittedly, not the most strenuous investigation I’ve ever conducted, but it was fun to see how this color might influence us even when we don’t realize it.

Image: Nikon 85mm lens; 1/400 sec @ f/4.5; ISO 400
Post processing: Kim Klassen’s Be Still texture with a layer mask set to multiply at 50% opacity and a second layer of the Be Still texture set to multiply at 20% with the center removed to enhance its framing characteristics.
Fonts: Beautiful Caps ES, Beautiful ES, and Times New Roman

6 thoughts on “Pretty in pink

  1. My world is very “un-pink” and I would be hard-pressed to come up with a pink photo subject as well. Loved the research – it’s interesting how much color impacts us without being aware of it.

    Great composition – I love how the stamen curls down into the frame, drawing you through the image. And another great use of text.

  2. I love pink, which is nice because it happens to look good on me. I don’t wear it that often, but get more compliments when I do than with any other color. It was fun reading your research!

  3. I had never really worn any pink until I had my daughter – and then a friend pointed out that I was gradually adding little bits to my wardrobe. It was completely subconscious.

Leave a Reply

