The fine art of doing nothing

If you are anything like me, you are the go from the moment your feet hit the floor in the morning until probably well after you should be asleep at night. It does seem sometimes that we, as a society, have forgotten how to relax. The tools (and toys) we have at our disposal do make our lives easier and more enjoyable, but I think they also take a toll on us because it is increasingly difficult to just “turn off” in order to enjoy some of the simpler, non-technology aspects of life.

That’s what this image, selected for the b&w challenge at Kim Klassen’s Texture Tuesday/Beyond Layers, brought to mind. You can’t tell, of course, that this photo was taken at the peak of a Florida summer when the heat and humidity combine in a wicked mix to make even a few outdoor minutes seem like an hour in an overheated sauna. In spite of that reality, I find this scene extremely inviting, and I am disappointed that I didn’t take time to stop, sit, and enjoy a moment of doing absolutely nothing except enjoying the world around me.

The full quote is “How beautiful it is to do nothing, and then to rest afterward. ~Spanish proverb

Image: Nikon 50 mm; 1/200 sec @ f/8.0; ISO 200
Post processing: two layers of Kim Klassen’s Friday texture. The lower one is set to overlay at 40% and the upper one is set to soft light at 100%. Both are masked so the texture is only on the chairs. I also used a levels adjustment to perk up the contrast a bit.
Fonts: Beautiful Caps ES and Beautiful ES

6 thoughts on “The fine art of doing nothing

  1. Doing nothing is something I can do all too well. It’s one of my greatest talents! And an Adirondack chair is one of my favorite places to do it. I love your image — and that quote. It’s a new one to me.

  2. I am a terrible relaxer. Doing nothing is something that I don’t do well.

    But this scene does make me want to sit a while. Lovely light; great contrast between the chairs and background; excellent post-processing and you continue to impress with your use of text.

Leave a Reply

