Rainy Day Friday

That’s what my workday today felt like, even though a quick look out the window revealed a bright blue sky filled with fluffy white clouds. Even better, I’m not complaining! It turned out to be an all-to-rare kind of day when I was, for once, able to concentrate on two or three projects (of my choosing) and actually see them through to completion. So, similar to a bad weather day when I might have been stuck at home with a just-right combination of mindset and tasks, I was able to accomplish some of the nuts-and-bolts kind of work that actually makes my and my colleagues’ worklife just a little bit easier.

Driving home from work, I was basking in this sense of accomplishment and simultaneously wondering why it felt so unusual, so SPECIAL. It finally occurred to me that, from a workplace perspective, my colleagues and I have been involved in continuous change for more than two years. We moved (ick!), our parent company was acquired by another firm (with all the turmoil those kind of changes usually entail), and our own company underwent a significant reorganization. Add to that a complete infrastructure update (everything from telephones to computers and the attendant management) over the last six to eight months—it’s been quite a ride!

So, it’s early Friday evening and I still have the weekend ahead of me. Monday will be here before I want it to be but, in the meantime, I plan to enjoy the weekend. The highlight is likely tomorrow’s early morning trip to a nearby nature preserve with several other women from the Digital Divas, a photo-centric Meetup group. I’m looking forward to the fellowship of like-minded individuals, nature’s embrace, and, with any luck, a few good photos as well!

4 thoughts on “Rainy Day Friday

  1. Such a lovely photo – and hope you had a delightfully relaxing weekend after all that change and turmoil. The Digital Divas sound delightful!

  2. Wanda – what you are going through is so difficult. To live daily with that much change takes its toll. I trust your weekend was filled with sunny skies and many photo opportunities – looking forward to seeing the results of your photo walk.

    (I have been experiencing difficulties leaving comments on WordPress-hosted blogs unless I sign in with my Facebook account – so it is still “me” 🙂

Leave a Reply

