One more day

I enjoy the color and fragrance a bouquet of flowers lends to the house, but I don’t buy them as often as I would like. The problem is that our cats, Slider and Peaches, think flowers are about the tastiest treat there is. So I buy them on the weekend when I’m home long enough to see and enjoy them, but at night and during the workweek the flowers adorn our usually empty guest room. That’s exactly what happened with the inexpensive mixed flower arrangement I brought home last weekend, except that I completely forgot about the flowers once I put them in the guest room late last Sunday. I was happily surprised when I found that the flowers survived the entire week, especially the ones that transformed themselves from last weekend’s buds to the gorgeous blooms in this photo. In fact, I decided they were a perfect subject for this week’s Beyond Layers challenge around the prompt “whisper.”

Image: Sigma 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 lens; 1/80 sec @ f/4.5; ISO 400
Post processing:Kim Klassen’s Flourish texture with a layer mask set to screen at 25% opacity and several adjustment layers
Fonts: SNF Daphne and Dali

7 thoughts on “One more day

  1. I have NO idea how you produced this, but it is indeed like a poster! I love fresh flowers too, but we are getting to the time of year when they don’t last even a couple of days 😦
    Alison xx

  2. What a wonderful surprise for you! Love that tiny bit of reflected light at the base of the vase and the diagonal line formed by the stem. And that shade of pink – in all its subtle variations – is to die for.

Leave a Reply

