A Tiny Bit of Magic

That’s what I concluded about the recent arrival of a “happy mail” package, courtesy of Alison at Life in the Slow Lane. Alison and I have been online friends since last year’s Blogging for Scrapbookers e-course, and I have come to appreciate her upbeat approach to life, demonstrated on her blog as well as through the scrapbook pages she features on her site. Most of all, I love the sign-off Alison uses for her posts, “Take care of you.” This is, of course, good advice, but I have to admit to feeling a bit of a virtual hug each time I read it!

Alison’s package arrived in last Friday’s mail. It was the end of a long week at work and the near-end of an even longer month of IT upgrades, outages, and overall turmoil. Because DH was away, I was the one who picked up the mail. Hmmm…what’s this?…I didn’t order anything, did I? Closer inspection revealed a patterned bubble envelope with a bit of paper ephemera attached and Alison’s return address, so I knew I was in for a treat.

The handmade card and note would have been more than enough to lift my spirits, but there were other goodies to enjoy as well. I am especially thrilled with the heart-motif napkins and intend to save them to help celebrate our 40th anniversary later this year.

I’ve been blogging for about 18 months. I initially thought of my blog as an on-line diary that no one else would be interested in, but it wasn’t long before I realized that the blogosphere is a new and unique community of talented writers and artists, each willingly sharing their own bit of magic. Alison’s “happy mail” is just one example of the kindness and support that I have found through blogging.

Alison, thanks so much for thinking of me for this happy mail package. It was truly a tiny bit of magic at the end of a rough spot for me.

Credits: Kim Klassen’s Light Paper 3 texture; Fonts: Beautiful Caps ES, Beautiful ES, and Times New Roman

One thought on “A Tiny Bit of Magic

Leave a Reply

