Still standing

Juxtaposition

I spotted the faded printing on this old building from across a vacant lot and was determined to get as “pure” a shot of it as I could. There were lots of distractions around—vehicles in the parking lot, power poles and lines, etc.—and it took several tries before I found a location that was free of those foreground distractions. But, I have to admit, I do not recall noticing the highrise condominium that is, obviously, a huge background distraction.

Though I’m disappointed in my observational skills, I am still pleased with this image because, in a single photo, I’ve captured a hundred years or more of our city’s history. The old harness supply building is obviously much smaller than its towering neighbor, but it proudly holds its own in a mostly ultramodern downtown area, all the while reminding us of a past that formed the foundation of the city.

Original photo: ISO 200, 1/640 sec @ f/4.5 using a Sigma 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 lens
Post-processing: LR adjustments for camera profile, exposure, and vertical and horizontal perspective; desaturated a copy of the original image and used PS masks and blending modes on two other copies of the original image

Posted for Kat Sloma’s Photo-Heart Connection. Find participation guidelines here and add your own photo-heart image here.

16 thoughts on “Still standing

  1. Such an interesting mix: I like they way they both speak to each other from such different times but share such a lot in terms of colour and shape. beautifully captured.

  2. I soooo thought you did that on purpose, the juxtaposition is what screams HISTORY. I think it is a perfectly pure shot, the tones, the whites – including the tree. Nice job – especially since it was accidental

  3. Should it be any comfort….I do that all the time. The obvious-bah, don’t see it.
    I like these old signs on buildings. Awhile ago I came across a blogger who made it a point to look for them. She called them ghost signs, because at time they are only faintly visible.
    while you didn’t see the highrise, I think it makes a lovely contrast and adds to the power and charm of what you found.

  4. Great capture & example of history & juxtaposition. Funny how those little things (like skyscrapers) just appear when you sit down for processing.

  5. Love this juxtaposition and your confession made me smile (I’ve done that before too!). You have captured the sense of history so beautifully and I love your composition.

  6. The juxtaposition of old and new is fabulous here. Isn’t it funny how we can be so focused on one element and completely eliminate something else in our minds, only to be discovered later? A great Photo-Heart Connection here!

  7. I have to echo the other comments here, that the combination of old and new in this image really makes it interesting. Beautiful history along with modern progress.

  8. Are you serious? I totally thought you composed that photo deliberately. I laughed my head off when I read your commentary! I’m so glad I’m not the only one who does things like that. I was also struck by the matching colors. Even the tree seems to be trying to blend in. Your “Juxtaposition” is perfect!

  9. Wanda – yes, it is the juxtaposition of the old versus the new that creates the emotional conflict within this image. I love how both buildings are made up of tones of bluish-gray but there is the deep burgundy edging that frames and separates the two from each other. Great way to work the location.

Leave a Reply

