Focus

…is one of the things I struggle with on several different levels.

At work, I need to concentrate on the essential due date and fire drill activities of the day or week while, simultaneously, taking care of all the routine things that keep our office moving in the right direction.

At home, I’m usually torn between what I want to do, what I know I should do, and what absolutely needs to be done in order to maintain an acceptable level of cleanliness and comfort for our household.

Photographically, I struggle to find the sweet spot that is both the focal point of the scene and optimum focus for the image my mind’s eye envisions.

Creatively, there are so many options available, each one more appealing than the last, that I feel overwhelmed by all the possibilities. I keep wishing for a lottery win that would afford both time and resources for all the things I would like to do!

So, in these early days of Kim Klassen’s year-long Beyond Layers venture, I’m finding some relief to some of my mostly self-imposed expectations. It turns out not every image has to be razor sharp—in fact, a bit of artful ambiguity (fuzziness?) is encouraged. I’m looking forward to exploring the creative possibilities this e-course promises.

  • Image: Nikon 50mm f/1.4 lens; 1/1000 sec @ f/1.4, ISO 200
  • Post processing: used Kim’s Rejoice texture set to soft light at 50%; removed some of the texture from the blooms
  • Fonts: Georgia and Swenson

4 thoughts on “Focus

  1. Well, I too agree with Brenda…this is beautiful and would make a great card or poster. The message is clear and perfectly illustrated. I need to keep that in front of me tomorrow.

  2. The words are perfect with this photo, and the photo perfectly illustrates the words. I love the selective focus on the blossoms. The final result is very pleasing. I agree with Brenda that it would make a great card or poster.

  3. Wanda – love your artfully “fuzzy” image – simply beautiful. And putting on my graphic designer hat, I love the way you have incorporated the text into your image. The font combination is so effective and I really like the color and composition. I can see this as an inspiration greeting card or poster.

    The perfect thing for me right now as I could use some focus.

Leave a Reply

