2011: Year in Review

Created at tagxedo.com

From a creative and blogging perspective, 2011 has been amazing. The word cloud above, courtesy of tagxedo.com, summarizes what caught my attention over the course of the past year.

I started blogging late in 2010 but was, at first, quite shy about it. In fact, I didn’t “go public” with my blog until I enrolled in Kat Sloma’s “Find Your Eye” creative photography course early in the year. Then, in March and April, I participated in Shimelle’s “Blogging for Scrapbookers” and “Beyond Blogging for Scrapbookers” classes which provided just the right level of encouragement for my fledgling blogging hobby. During the summer and fall, I joined Kat Sloma and lots of talented photographers and bloggers for a revamped “Find Your Eye” course. Through these courses I found a number of supportive fellow bloggers including, among others, Alexa at Trimming the Sails, Allison at Life in the Slow Lane, Brenda at How to Feather an Empty Nest, Lee at Sea Blue Lens, and Sian at From High in the Sky. I admire these women as much for their generous spirits as I do for their creative endeavors in writing, photography, scrapbooking, and/or crafting.

Late in the year I took Jana Morton’s “Blending and Beyond” class and was thrilled to learn about using layer masks and blending techniques to create digital art. One of the first layouts I completed in that course celebrated my (deliberately) brief two-race running career:

Product credits available upon request

Now I’m looking forward to Jana’s follow-on class, “Creative Composites,” which begins in early January. I’m confident she will have lots of interesting techniques for this session as well.

What to do with a blank page and a blinking cursor…every day or at least several times each week? To be honest, I still struggle with that as well as with posting on a regular schedule. One solution I’ve used in recent months is participating in memes. Of the ones I’ve tried, I enjoy Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday the most. Each week focuses on a different letter of the alphabet (in sequence so I can plan ahead!). Participant posts are diverse and reflect what captures each writer’s attention for that week’s letter. I’m looking forward to continuing with this weekly meme and perhaps finding a couple of others to participate in during 2012.

In the meantime, Happy New Year!

4 thoughts on “2011: Year in Review

  1. I too have enjoyed my blogging adventure this year Wanda…I always learn something new when I visit your Blog, and am looking forward to our continuing blogging adventures
    Alison xx

  2. Wanda,
    I must say that your layouts are really amazing – obviously the classwork that you did this year was a grand success! I am so glad that you have become a part of my online community – thanks so much for the mention above. Love your word cloud as well – a beautiful way to capture a year. Looking forward to walking together into 2012!

Leave a Reply

