America’s Front Yard

This post is my response to Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday challenge for the letter “F.” There’s sure to be lots of other “f”un and in”f”ormative posts here. “F”eel “f”ree to add your own post!

When we were in Washington, DC last month, we were able to spend a morning walking through “America’s front yard,” or, more properly, the National Mall. Over the course of just a few hours, we toured the World War II Memorial, the Vietnam Veterans Memorial, the Lincoln Memorial, the Korean War Veterans Memorial, and the newly dedicated Martin Luther King Jr., Memorial.

Each of these, as well as the many others we didn’t have time to visit that day, uniquely depict some aspect of our country’s history. What struck me as we moved from the starkness of the Vietnam memorial to the grandeur of the Lincoln memorial and beyond is that each of these markers recalls despair during a dark period in our history and simultaneously celebrates our country’s triumph over each difficulty.

No matter where we went that morning, we could see the Washington Monument. This shot, which might be my favorite of the day, frames the monument in autumn colors of the famed cherry trees that line the Tidal Basin. And, if you look closely, you can even see a couple of the rappelling engineers who are inspecting the monument for post-earthquake damage. Seeing all these monuments again reinforced for me just how glad I am that the Washington Monument still dominates the DC skyline.

13 thoughts on “America’s Front Yard

  1. Even though I’m an L.A. girl, I used to travel to DC all the time on business (averaged one week at of every month there). The monuments were beautiful, but my absolute favorite was to see them at night. So gorgeous!

    You really caught the spirit of DC beautifully with your words!

  2. What a beautiful photograph. I haven’t been to Washington, DC in many, many years, but it is a very special place. I’m surprised they’re still working on the monument. I remember hearing about it shortly after the earthquake happened and that seems to have been a while ago. It’s taking a while.

  3. I like your unique take on the famous cherry trees. I’ve seen hundreds of photos of the spring blossoms, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen one featuring the fall foliage.

Leave a Reply

