Just delighted!

This post is my response to Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday challenge for the letter “D”. You can find other “D” posts here.

Today is my 60th birthday. Except for taking a vacation day from work, I don’t usually pay much attention to birthdays, though I must admit I’ve been looking forward to this one for most of the year. It could be that 60 is just a nice round number or perhaps that it’s the beginning of the decade in which I hope to retire. Whatever, whyever, it’s nice to have reached this milestone.

Our family is pretty low key about most things, birthdays included. Cards, phone calls, maybe dinner out is usually the extent of our celebrations, so I was pleasantly surprised today when this beautiful floral birthday cake, a gift from my stepson and stepdaughter, was delivered.

So pretty, so realistic!

My favorite colors!

Altogether delightful!

12 thoughts on “Just delighted!

  1. Happy, happy belated birthday!

    What a delightful gift! I’ve never seen anything like this! I can imagine the delicious fragrance and your smile of delight when you received.

    Such a memorable gift for such a memorable day…even if they are low key at your house!

    Thanks for the smile!

    Sending a late birthday hug your way.

    A+

  2. Happy Birthday, Wanda! What a great cake! I’m glad you are happy about your milestone and positive about the future. It’s so much nicer than dreading each birthday and bemoaning getting older! Mine is coming up soon, a nice odd number, and I’m looking forward to it. 🙂

  3. Wanda – many happy congrats on reaching this milestone! And what a wondrous cake – I have never seen a floral cake before – what a great idea. I can say with certainty – retirement is pretty darn wonderful. I hope this decade brings that state of being to your life – sooner rather than later.

  4. Happy Birthday! My birthday is coming soon too! My D post is on my craft blog this week. My grandmother received a flower cake for her 90th birthday in 1998. That was the first time I had seen that. Today is the 9th anniversary of her death. I can’t believe it has been 9 years since she left us. She was 94. Lived a long, wonderful life. I pray that your next decade is full of special memories with loved ones!

    ~Linnea

Leave a Reply

