The “bomb” bakers

This post is my response to Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday challenge for the letter “B”. Click here for other letter “B” reflections.

I’m always on the lookout for new recipes, but when a recipe is both easy and somehow different than the norm—well, I just have to try it. This recipe, from Food Network’s Guy Fieri, fits both those criteria and the results are terrific too. I’ve never made the horseradish sauce suggested with the recipe, but we love these dressed with butter and plain sour cream. Combined with a topping of chili, taco meat, or any sort of meat-and-gravy leftovers, they make for a nice easy supper too. Note: I also use about half the salt called for in the brine, and I don’t always season the outside of the skins before I bake them. I hope you enjoy this recipe.

The Bomb Bakers
1 1/4 cups kosher salt
6 medium russet potatoes, washed
2 tablespoons garlic salt
2 tablespoons seasoned salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
Horseradish Sour Cream, recipe follows

Directions
In large mixing bowl dissolve 1 cup kosher salt in 8 cups of water. Add potatoes. Ensure that all potatoes are submerged, and brine for 2 to 8 hours.
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.
Remove the potatoes from brine and liberally coat with the remaining kosher salt, garlic salt, seasoned salt, and pepper.
Place the potatoes on a wire rack in the center of the oven and bake for 45 minutes. Do not puncture skin with tongs, fork, or tooth picks. Potatoes will be soft to the touch when done. Let potatoes rest 5 minutes before cutting.

Horseradish Sour Cream:
2 cups sour cream
4 tablespoons prepared horseradish
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Combine all ingredients. Serve with potatoes.

16 thoughts on “The “bomb” bakers

  1. Horseradish sour cream?!?

    I am all over this recipe.

    Like white on rice.

    It’s what for dinner tonight.

    With a salad.

    Oh, I’m really, really excited!

    Thanks for sharing this.

    My husband will be thrilled.

    A+

  2. This does sound good. I think I’ll try it, but cut back on the salt a little. I recently bought Kosher salt for the first time because I kept coming across recipes that called for it. I finally gave in and bought it.

    • I don’t really know what’s different about Kosher salt, except that the grain is larger. I checked Wikipedia…it says Kosher salt usually doesn’t contain additives such as iodine.

  3. Beleive it or not, but I haven’t used kosher salt before. What’s the purpose of this? Does soaking the potatoes in the kosher water allow the spices to stick to the outside better? I think I would like the interesting flavor of the salt, garlic, and pepper on the potato skin, though. Sounds tasty! Thanks for sharing your ‘B’ post!

    • I think the salt to water ratio is diluted enough that the potatoes don’t taste too salty. I also think the potato absorbs enough of the water during the brining process that it becomes much more moist than an unbrined potato would be. And the seasoned outside is quite tasty–I do it or not depending on what we’ll be using the potatoes for.

Leave a Reply

