Aging gracefully

This post is my response to Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday challenge for the letter “A”. Yes, we’re starting a brand new semester, so come on over to see what everyone is up to around the letter “A” and, by all means, add your thoughts on the subject!

We’ve all heard it…beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Based on a recent experience, I would have to add that age is apparently in the same category. Let me tell you about it.

As I was leaving a fast food restaurant recently, I heard a male voice call out “Fran,” and then, almost immediately, an echo from a female voice, “Fran? Fran!”

I was quite surprised just a moment later when one of the store employees came running after me, saying “Fran, that man over there is calling you!” After replying to her that I wasn’t Fran, she said “Oh, now I see! There’s another older wo…” Then, realizing what she almost said, she stopped in mid-sentence, gulped, and looked a tiny bit embarrassed at considering me “older” before quickly turning back into the restaurant.

The incident did give me a bit of a chuckle, but I’ve also had to reassess how I appear to other people. I like to think of myself as 59 years young and am happy to report that I am in excellent health, so that in many ways I feel better now than when I was 40! However, it appears attitude doesn’t always carry the day, at least in the way others perceive us. Fortunately (or not), I’m well past the age where I feel compelled to live up to other people’s expectations of me (family, most friends, employer excepted). Still, I will make a conscious effort to straighten my posture, at least in public, and, if it didn’t mean an every-six-weeks visit to the hairdresser, I might even go back to coloring my hair. Other than that, I’ll be content to age gracefully…

20 thoughts on “Aging gracefully

  1. What a fun post!

    You definitely hit a chord (or two or three!) with me!

    I take advantage of every senior discount I can. I figure it’s a tiny reward for surviving my life thus far!

    ha!

    Thanks for a thoughtful and fun link to Alphabe-Thursday’s letter “A”.

    A+

  2. :o) I remember my husband’s aunt saying that she “still felt like she was in her 30’s” when she was in her 60’s…until she looked in the mirror. She still has a “go gettum” attitude and full of spunk as she is in her early 80’s. I feel the same…as far as feeling “just as I did 15 or so years ago”…except my body definitely has changed when it comes to my metablolism!

    And another thing that makes me realize that I have “matured”…is when I drive on post and see the young soldiers…and think “how like babies they all look!” :o) Anywhoo…time does fly by… (somewhere, I read “50 is today’s 30”.)…so that must mean “60 is today’s 40”?)

    I’ve been very busy this time of year with art orders (for which I am thankful, blessed and love to do), but Yay!, it is also fun to be back in Ms. Jenny’s Alphabe-Thursday class again!

    Blessings & Aloha!

  3. I am visiting from Alphabe-Thursday too. Your title caught my eye! Love your post. I am working on aging gracefully. So far people think I am younger than I am which is 54. For some reason it is a shock to people for me to be 54. Will be turning 55 next month and will be able to take advantage of it at some places. Like restaurants that have a discount for those 55 and up. Also at Hancock’s Fabrics has one for those 55 and up. Only thing is that is only on the first Wednesday. But I hear they are going to start honoring that on the third Wednesday as well. Only thing is…remember to go on those nights. It is in the next town over, so not easy to do if I don’t plan ahead.

    Linnea

  4. Wanda, judging from your photo, you do not look 59! I am 57, and once I was offered the senior discount at the movies. I was so happy to save $3 that I didn’t even get insulted. You’re as young as you feel,but to the under 30 crowd we are ancient relics. 🙂 Visiting from Alphabe-Thursday. xo

  5. I’ve been were Betty was (above) in a DIY store and it took me a little while to see the funny side! I told her I was having a bad hair day and the most amusing bit was her embarrassment. 🙂

  6. Visiting you from AT and Mrs M, and just wanted to say I think this is a great post.
    This year I turned 61, stopped dying my hair and started claiming my OAP benefits so that I can buy more Gin and start to grow old disgracefully! LOL!

  7. Not sure if I am aging gracefully but know I am busier than ever!
    Still smarting a bit though over my husband and I being referred to as an “older couple” by an employee at a local greenhouse…he seemed to feel we needed extra help loading bags of potting soil…bet I could run circles around him :o)

Leave a Reply

