I will not yawn…

This post is my response to Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday challenge for the letter “Y”.

I hope I’m not the only one in this group who was disciplined in elementary school by having to write lines as punishment for misbehaving in some way. I don’t remember what I did to earn the punishment or what I was told to write, but I do remember being embarrassed about it and more than a little bored by the project before I was done. That, of course, makes me wonder about the effectiveness of the punishment as it soon turned into a rote process of pencil to paper.

Of course, the work had to be neatly done too as most teachers believed that the punishment was also a good opportunity for penmanship practice. I remember that I usually wrote the entire sentence on the first line of a page and then on subsequent lines wrote all the first words, second words, etc., always trying to keep all the lines as neat and legible as possible.

So in the spirit of long ago experiences and desperate for a word for today’s letter “y,” here is my contribution, all about not yawning in class:

Lined paper available at http://www.ActivityVillage.co.uk

Umm, I’ll see you later. I have to finish the rest of these lines…

11 thoughts on “I will not yawn…

  1. I’m hoping this will make me yawn, actually. I got bit by the insomnia bug which might be a good thing. Blogger is actually letting me leaving comments at 1:46 am without being difficult!

    Maybe there’s less ‘traffic’ on their servers right now.

    I remember writing a few of those things back in the day, too.

    Mine were usually, “I will not talk in class”.

    This was a cute link!

    Thanks for the smile.

    A+

  2. haha! I think I had to do that one time in school too! And with the art that I do of repeatedly writing a name throughout the entire image, some have asked if it felt like writing out lines of a punishment. I LOVE to do them, so no, it doesnt seem like a punishment to me…and thankfully, I do not get bored doing them ;o)

    Blessings & Aloha!
    Thank you sooo much for stopping by and leaving your kind comment on my Y post. I have been wearing my mom’s necklace a lot lately :o)

  3. Hahaha! I had to do that more than once!!! When one becomes really relaxed, and are about to nod off in public, one’s breathing slows down, and a yawn causes one to take in more oxygen!! I must need a lot of oxygen!!!

Leave a Reply

