Vintage Fare

These recipes are old, as in “I’ve been making them all my life” kind of old, so I’m going with “vintage” for Miss Jenny’s Alphabe-Thursday challenge for the letter “V.” I’ll be sharing two recipes that use condensed tomato soup, Porcupine Meatballs and Tomato Soup Cake.

Porcupine Meatballs
1 ½ pounds ground beef
½ cup uncooked rice
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon pepper
1 tablespoon minced onion
1 can (10 ¾ ounces) tomato soup
½ cup water

Combine meat, rice, salt, pepper, and onion. Shape into small balls. Heat tomato soup and water in pressure cooker. Drop meatballs into soup mixture. Close cover securely. Place pressure regulator on vent pipe and cook 10 minutes with pressure regulator rocking slowly. Let pressure drop of its own accord.

From Presto’s Pressure Cooker Recipe and Instruction Book © 1971

(If you don’t have a pressure cooker, you can place the meatballs in a 13x9x2-inch baking pan, pour the tomato soup mixture over, and cover the casserole with aluminum foil. Bake for about 45 minutes and then remove cover and bake for another 15-20 minutes or until meatballs are tender.)

Regardless of cooking method, the rice will fluff up inside the meatballs as they cook and resemble porcupine quills when the recipe is finished. Serve over additional hot rice along with a vegetable or salad; serves 6-8.

Tomato Soup Cake
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/3 cups sugar
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 ½ teaspoons allspice
1 teaspoon cinnamon
½ teaspoon cloves
1 can (10 ¾ ounces) tomato soup
½ cup shortening
2 eggs
¼ cup water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour two 8-inch round cake pans. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Beat at low speed until well blended and then beat at high speed for four minutes. Bake 35 to 40 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center of cake layer comes out clean. Cool in pans for 10 minutes. Remove from pans and cool completely. Frost with cream cheese frosting.

(Also good baked in a bundt pan and then drizzled with a powdered sugar glaze. Adjust baking time as necessary.)

I hope one or both of these recipes will make it your dinner table sometime soon. Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Vintage Fare

  1. What fun ‘vintage’ recipes.

    I have made these both! My kids always loved the porcupine meatballs!

    And that cake recipe is so moist and delicious.

    For those that commented that tomato soup was weird in a recipe, I suspect they would not be tantalized by my chocolate sauerkraut cake recipe – ha!

    Thanks for a fun link this week.

    A+

  2. I never heard of tomatosoup cake, must be very special. I use my pressure cooker a lot specially for soups and stews. Have it for at least 30 years.Have a nice weekend

  3. OMG! I used to make these! And the Tomato Soup Cake was one of my grandmother’s recipes.. How cool! Thanks for bringing back the classics. I use a pressure cooker. My parents bought each one of us girls one. I love to cook sauerkraut, pork and potatoes in mine. All my friends are scared to death to use one.~Ames

Leave a Reply

