Too little, too late

This post is my response to Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday challenge for the letter “T”.

Too little, too late…that’s the title of the e-mail I sent to my state’s Senators and Congressmen as well as to the leadership of the Senate and House of Representatives this evening. I doubt it will have any effect on their actions in the days and weeks ahead, but I feel a little bit better for having added my own 2¢ to the discussion. I have a feeling the only thing I will get for my trouble is lots more e-mails since I will likely be added to their campaign mailing lists. That said, I’m sharing my letter to them with you for this week’s Alphabe-Thursday:

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Too little, too late ~ that’s my indictment of you and your Senate and House colleagues.

Because of your partisan wrangling, you delayed action on raising the debt ceiling until the very last moment and, in the process, tried the nerves and patience of the American public and undermined our confidence in the legislative arm of our government. What’s worse is that you didn’t accomplish the objective. The final bill was just sufficient to avoid immediate default but, as usual, you simply put off meaningful action to some undetermined point in the future. Standard & Poor’s decision to downgrade the U.S.’s credit rating may have been misguided, but their assessment of Congress’s lack of commitment to credible change was right on the mark.

Then, as if that wasn’t bad enough, you and your colleagues left on a 5-week break without taking care of funding requirements for the FAA. As a result, thousands of FAA employees were furloughed and many thousands of construction workers were laid off because the FAA was broke. Once again, your failure to deal with our country’s legislative issues in a timely and effective way penalized ordinary citizens, the very people you are sworn to serve.

Republicans would have us believe that the only way to resolve our budget deficit is to cut programs. Budget cuts are probably necessary, even advisable, in some areas, but you must also remember that such cuts will inevitably result in job losses in both the public and private sectors. Where will people who lose jobs as a result of budget cuts find new jobs, especially given our currently high unemployment rate? Further, programs such as Medicare, Medicaid, Social Security, etc., provide services that many people depend on. What will happen to people whose benefits are cut or eliminated?

Democrats think the answer is to raise taxes, especially on wealthier Americans. Republicans oppose that because they believe that free market forces at work in a tax-advantaged corporate America will provide jobs and create economic growth that will eventually allow prosperity to trickle down to the middle and lower classes. That sounds like a good theoretical argument but is unconvincing in an economy with nearly 10% unemployment.

As you return to work next week, I ask you: Please, just do your job. Work with people on both sides of the aisle to find a workable middle ground between drastic budget cuts and extreme tax increases. Embrace the art of compromise rather than continuing to insist on party line absolutes that are probably not only unattainable but also not wise. You are in Congress to work for the American people, not to advance your party’s political agenda. Finally, as you go about your work, please remember that every action you take affects real people in very real ways.

18 thoughts on “Too little, too late

  1. What a powerful and succinct message.

    Too bad most the people in government have selective vision. They put their fingers in their ears and ‘la, la, la’ through criticism or intelligent, common sense ideas.

    Let me know when you run! I’ll contribute to your campaign!

    Thanks for a thoughtful and thought provoking link this week.

    A+

  2. Barbara F, Betty, Alexa,

    Thanks for your votes of confidence for me for a political career, but I doubt I’m cut out for that kind of life. However, now that I’ve discovered that it’s relatively easy to contact my representatives and senators, I may do more of that in the future. At the very least, I can keep reminding them that not everyone in their consituencies are committed to the narrow party line thinking they seem to endorse.

    BTW, one thing I did discover is that some representatives and senators limit submission of comments via their on-line contact forms to people from their districts (by requiring a zip+4 entry), so it’s a little more difficult to contact a senator or representative that you think is more out of line than usual if that person isn’t your direct representative.

    Regards,
    Wanda

  3. Yes, please do your jobs! As the mom of a child with special needs,budget concerns and possible loss of services are a very real concern to me.

    Thanks for speaking up. More of us should.

  4. So many folks moan and groan about how things are, yet do nothing about it. Kudos to you, my friend. Your powerful and well-written letter echoes my sentiments and those of my husband.

  5. You have written so well what most Americans are feeling!!! Sadly, those same groups will continue to march along to their own beat – and I agree with the others, you will probably be inundated with money requests….because in the end – that is what THEY are all about…

  6. You absolutely MUST see “Inside Job” if you have not already. We rented it from Netflix. Your letter is terrific, but you are right–be on the lookout for people asking you for money. Please tell them that you have a hard and fast rule to not donate money to ANYONE who makes more money than you do.

    • Thanks for the recommendation to see “Inside Job.” If the 109 previous holds in our library’s system are any indication, then there are plenty of people who are over-the-top angry at the financial mess of the last few years. I’ll look forward to watching the documentary.

  7. Beautifully written! I pray for our country each day. Until politicians put their party, special interest groups and getting re-elected behind them and the good of the country first and foremost I’m afraid things aren’t going to get any better.

  8. I’ll be your campaign manager. We need to get you elected!

    Yes, I think you’re correct…they’ll all put you on their E-mail list and ask for campaign contributions. I love what you wrote…it’s all so true!

    In Texas we have the Do Not Call List. You put your name on the list and telemarketers are not supposed to call. Of course, the Do Not Call List law was written by the politicians who decided to exclude themselves. When election time comes around the phone rings off the hook and usually it’s a recorded message so I can’t even tell them not to call again. I’ve contacted campaigns, but it appears the only way to stop it is to not be a registered voter. I guess I could get rid of my land line, but I don’t want to do that either. I just think they’re so arrogant to assume anyone would want their calls, but not a telemarketer. They’re no better than the telemarketers! I’m not about to give up my vote, so I’m stuck with their stupid calls.

    I consider politics a necessary evil in a democracy.

Leave a Reply

