Sing it!

This post is my response to Jenny Matlock’s Alphabet Thursday challenge for the letter “Q”.

I readily admit that I’m a big fan of 1950s music, especially happy little ballads like Doris Day’s Que Sera Sera**. The chorus to the song has been playing itself through my head all day long, and, from time to time, I’ve even caught myself singing and whistling the tune. Join me:   

When I was just a little girl
I asked my mother, what will I be?
Will I be pretty? Will I be rich?
Here’s what she said to me.

Que Sera, Sera
Whatever will be, will be
The future’s not ours to see
Que Sera, Sera
What will be, will be.

When I grew up and fell in love
I asked my sweetheart, what lies ahead?
Will we have rainbows, day after day?
Here’s what my sweetheart said.

Que Sera, Sera
Whatever will be, will be
The future’s not ours to see
Que Sera, Sera
What will be, will be.

Now I have children of my own
They ask their mother, what will I be
Will I be handsome? Will I be rich?
I tell them tenderly.

Que Sera, Sera
Whatever will be, will be
The future’s not ours to see
Que Sera, Sera
What will be, will be.

**1956 – music by Jay Livingston; lyrics by Ray Evans

These are perhaps Pollyanna-ish lyrics, way more optimistic than current circumstances warrant, and even simplistic given scientific advances over the 50+ years since the song was first recorded, but there is probably a bit of wisdom here too. None of us knows what tomorrow will bring. Each of us owns only this minute—perhaps just this single second—so [lesson to self] we need to make the most of each moment, not worrying unnecessarily about things we can’t control and doing whatever we can for and with the people who are important to us.

For those of you who enjoy this type of music, I hope this little reminiscence will be a bright spot in your day. For others who are less enthusiastic about the genre, but still find the tune and lyrics stuck in their heads, I can only say “que sera, sera…what will be, will be.” Hugs, all.

14 thoughts on “Sing it!

  1. That was lovely. I remember, very clearly, singing this with my mother and my sister as we crossed Canada by rail in the late 50’s. No IPODs or hand-helds – we read stories to one another and we sang. I also remember being entranced by the song ‘Side by Side’.

  2. Interesting interpretation on the tone of the song. There is a group called Pink Martini that did a cover of the song. They kept the lyrics intact, but changed the music slightly to sound more sinister and sad. It totally takes away the optimistic vibe that Doris Day gave it. Here is a video I found of it.

  3. I love this song and I love Doris Day! My auntie Ang use to sing this song to me. I loved it then and I love it now. Thanks for the memory. Have a terrific weekend. Hugs Anne

  4. I love this song also! I can remember my grandmother playing it on a phonograph, she had tons of 45’s that she played over and over while she did housework.

    Thanks for bringing back that lovely memory!!

    xxoo,

    RMW

Leave a Reply

