Of a Certain Age

Lately, as I approach my 60th birthday, I’ve been thinking about what it means to be this age at this point in history. It certainly feels very different to me than my perceptions of my mother’s, mother-in-law’s, and grandmother’s lives when they were 60-ish. Educational opportunities, improvements in women’s equality, advances in medical science, and (until the last few years) a good economy all contribute to my general sense of well-being. I’m fortunate to be healthy, happily married, and employed, with sufficient leisure time to pursue a variety of recreational interests.

Still, I struggle with trying to define who and what I am at this point in my life compared to what I once expected I would be like at this age. It appears I’m not the only who is confused. An internet search yielded several unsatisfactory descriptions, including “people who are not young,” “sexagenarian,” “elderly,” and “senior” or “older adult.” I won’t dispute that I’m not young anymore and I certainly will be a sexagenarian in just a few months, but I definitely don’t feel elderly, senior, or older. In fact, in many ways, I feel better now than I did when I was 50 or even when I was 40.

Where can I find role models for this stage of my life? I’ve seen references to personalities such as Oprah Winfrey, Maria Shriver, and Hillary Clinton, but let’s face it: their realities and mine are far, far apart!

So, what to do? Not too coincidentally, I started searching for blogs that are written by women who are at the same stage of life as I am, and I was amazed and gratified by what I found. These are women who are aging gracefully, living with flair, and, most importantly, living and enjoying life on their own terms. I’m proud to apprentice myself to them (not necessarily that any of them are older than I am…I don’t know that one way or the other) because they are uniquely accomplished, witty, and spirited.

  • Hen’s Teeth is a collaborative blog; they bill themselves as “liberal southern women (who) see things a little differently.” The topics they address vary and I don’t necessarily agree with their views, but I appreciate that they’ve taken the time to write and share their thoughts. One recent fave is Scent Dement.
  • Having earned certificates in graphic design and digital photography, Brenda at How to Feather an Empty Nest, has recently retired from the corporate world and is starting her own freelance graphic design company. How bold is that? The photos on her site are absolutely gorgeous…please do go take a peek. You can read more about her camera-of-choice here: Why I Don’t Have a DSLR.
  • Reading posts at I choose how I will spend the rest of my life is a real treat. Judith writes about family, life, nostalgia, etc., plus in every post she includes one or more quotes that compliment the topic. Check out today’s post, Leaving on a Jet Plane.

As you are able, please take a few minutes to click on these links and to perhaps leave a comment or two. And, above all, have a happy Saturday!

 

3 thoughts on “Of a Certain Age

  1. Such a thoughtful and timely (for me) post – thank-you! So much of what you have written pings for me too. Off to look at your links …

  2. Thank you for including me in your list of role models. I would love to think that what I write is meaningful to somebody. Where in this wonderful world do you live?

Leave a Reply

