BFS Prompt #10: What makes you uniquely YOU?

Idiosyncrasy (noun) – a characteristic habit, mannerism, or the like, that is peculiar to an invididual.

Many people cringe or shiver when chalk squeaks across a chalkboard. I used to have a friend who told me she shivered if she heard a cottonball being pulled apart. Until she mentioned her reaction, I’m not even sure I was aware cottonballs could have a noise.

My own peculiar response is to the sound of anything satiny, silky, or nylon-y. Though I’m not as sensitive to it as I once was, I still prefer to use blankets without a ribbon finish, and I’ll go to the opposite side of a store to avoid someone who is wearing nylon wind pants because of the sound they make when the person moves. Even thinking about it has given me goosebumps!

So…are you indiosyncratic? What makes you cringe or want to walk away (as fast as possible)?

4 thoughts on “BFS Prompt #10: What makes you uniquely YOU?

  1. I don’t like the sound of chalk on a chalkboard, and I don’t like watching movies based in the Antarctic because it makes me feel cold!

  2. I hate being able to hear someone chewing their food…. But I don’t think that’s unusual, exactly!! I hate the word ‘moist’, and ‘grub’ to mean food. I’m sure I have about 50 million idiosyncrasies though, I just can’t quite think of any right now!

Leave a Reply

