“Odd Ingredient” Recipes

One of my favorite things is to have the leisure to browse magazines such as Good Housekeeping and Southern Living for new recipes, and I’m seriously addicted to Food Network and Cooking Channel programming. It’s unlikely I will ever actually make all the recipes I’ve saved, though I do try new ones on a fairly regular basis. I’m not one for complicated recipes or elaborate processes, and I favor anything that makes enough for weekday leftovers or can be frozen for later use.

I’m also attracted to recipes that use what I think of as an “odd ingredient,” something that I wouldn’t initially think of in terms of a particular recipe. On Sunday, we had Spicy Dr. Pepper Shredded Pork, courtesy of Ree Drummond of Pioneer Woman. The title gives away the odd ingredient in this recipe and the spicy comes from the addition of a can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. After tasting the sauce a couple of times during cooking, I decided to remove the peppers about halfway through so the dish wouldn’t become too spicy for our taste. We had the pork on hamburger buns with cole slaw on top and found it pretty tasty! And, BTW, I got my wish—there certainly is a lot of meat for both the freezer and a meal or two later this week!

Since you have the link to the shredded pork recipe above, I’ll share a similar recipe my mother used to make. In fact, one of my earliest memories is having Mom’s Spoon Burgers at a family picnic with grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins. Since this recipe is made with ground meat (beef or turkey work equally well), it doesn’t take nearly as long to cook as the the shredded pork recipe.

Spoon Burgers

1 pound lean ground beef
1 teaspoon shortening
1 clove garlic, minced
1 medium onion, chopped
1 teaspoon salt
¾ cup Dr. Pepper or Mr. Pibb (don’t use diet products)
1 8-ounce can tomato sauce or 6-ounce can tomato paste
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

Brown ground beef in shortening, breaking into small pieces. Drain. Add garlic, onion, and salt. Add remaining ingredients. Bake at 250 degrees F. until thick. Serve on toasted hamburger buns. Serves 6 to 8.

2 thoughts on ““Odd Ingredient” Recipes

  1. I like the sound of that – the addition of the DR Peppers reminds me of Nigella Lawsons Ham cooked in Coke recipe. That’s another great one.

Leave a Reply

