40 Precious Minutes

I’m an early riser. During the work week that means I’m on the road by about 5:40 and into my office not later than 6:15. There’s usually no work-related requirement for me to be there that early, though I am lucky that I have the flexibility to work hours that suit me. Basically I’ve settled on a 7 to 3:30-4:00 schedule because that lets me beat both the morning and afternoon rush hours. But my early arrival at the office also means I have almost an hour of “me” time before I start my work day.

I’ve been trying for the last several months to develop a regular blogging habit. One of the key things, of course, is to set aside a block of time each day for that purpose. It turns out the 40 or so minutes between when I arrive in the office and the start of my work day are just about right to hammer out a few paragraphs on whatever topic is on my mind for the day. Then I put the project away until after dinner in the evening when I take a few minutes (or longer, depending on how well the morning’s writing went!) to re-read and edit my earlier work before finally posting the day’s effort to my blog.

One of the things I’ve struggled with is establishing a theme (or themes) for my blog. So far, my posts are just a random collection of thoughts and ideas, often reflecting my reaction to current events that I hear about during my morning commute. However, I think I’ve finally settled on two regular features that I hope will become the backbone of my blog.

I’m calling the first one “The Weekend Chef” because, though I like to cook and love experimenting with new recipes, I really only cook on the weekends. The rest of the time we get by on leftovers, freezer meals (planned overs from previous weekend cooking efforts), sandwiches, and takeout. I hope to post the recipes we liked, a photo or two of either preparation or the finished product, and comments about my weekend cooking adventures.

The second feature is “ScrapStories” which I intend to use to tell the extended story of the scrapbook layouts I do from time to time. I’m also hoping that the link between blogging and scrapping will motivate me to do more scrapping than I’ve been doing lately. I’ve considered a photo blog (i.e., adding a photo or two to each post), but it occurred to me that if the photos are good enough to post in the first place, then they are probably also worth scrapping.

Serendipitously, I saw a post on Gallo Organico’s blog about a class called “Blogging for Scrapbookers” that started on March 21st. It didn’t take long for me to decide to sign up because the class description sounded exactly like what I’ve been looking for—a way to marry up scrapping and blogging in a creative and sustainable way.

One thought on “40 Precious Minutes

Leave a Reply

