Talk about timing!

A few months ago, I came across a forum exchange of several women talking about a fitness training program called Couch to 5K (a.k.a., C25K). Intrigued, I sought out the website and, after a little research, decided to give it a try. Basically, C25K is a 9-week, three days per week, interval training program that starts with an easy mix of alternating jogging and walking intervals. During the first week, for example, the plan is to alternate 60 seconds of jogging with 90 seconds of running. As you progress, the jogging intervals increase and the walking intervals become less frequent so that by the end of week 5, you should be able to run continuously for 2 miles (approx. 20 minutes).

I’ll admit it’s taken me a lot longer than five weeks to reach that 2-mile run and there were times when I wondered if I could actually accomplish that, never mind an entire 5K. One thing about a program like this is that there’s lots of time for thinking—and at some point I decided I needed some sort of motivation to help encourage me to stick with the program. I finally recalled that Disney World sponsors several running events over the course of the year, so I promised myself that if and when I completed the 2-mile milestone that I would investigate a run at Disney World.

Well, today, at long last, I finally ran for two continuous miles. It took me about 24 minutes, since I’m at a 5.0 mph rate on the treadmill, but I did it! I could hardly wait to get home so I could find information about the Disney World running events.

It didn’t take long to find the information, and I’m glad I reached this goal when I did. I was surprised to (1) find an event happening in early January 2011, (2) that the 5K was nearly full, and (3) that the deadline to receive a personalized race bib (as part of the race goody package) was November 1st. Granted, the personalized bib is not essential but if I’m going to do this, I might as well have that as well!

Long story short, I am registered to run in the Disney Family Fun Run 5K that is part of Disney’s Marathon Weekend event in early January 2011. I can hardly wait!!

Leave a Reply

