Battle-Scarred

…but not beaten. This old set of Calphalon pots has seen our family through a lot of meals, including both long-time family favorites and “must-try” recipes from cookbooks, magazines, the internet, and TV. Fortunately DH is a good sport about my experimentation and will give an honest evaluation of what he thinks of a particular recipe.

First time out, I always try to follow a new recipe as closely as possible, but I often find partway through that I’m out of something I thought I had. I also have an aversion to an extra trip to the grocery store, so I usually try to resolve the problem with a substitution of some kind. The internet is a huge help in that regard. For example, I was making from-scratch pizza sauce yesterday and discovered I didn’t have Italian seasoning (I don’t even know how that’s possible since a lot of what we eat is of the tomato sauce-and-pasta variety).  Anyway, a quick search revealed several different versions of Italian seasoning—this is the one I settled on:

Italian Seasoning – equal amounts of basil, oregano, rosemary, marjoram, thyme, cilantro, and ground red pepper. Use as needed, storing any leftovers in an airtight container.

One thought on “Battle-Scarred

Leave a Reply

