All that and more!

One of the things I’ve noticed during my exploration of the unusual words and phrases that populate the (American) English language is that many of the search hits I find related to “idioms,” “slang,” “American phrases,” etc., connect to ESL (English as a Second Language) sites. Being a single-language person myself, I am a big admirer of people who, through choice or circumstance, undertake the hard work necessary to master a second (and sometimes a third, fourth, etc.) language.

As noted early on in this series, American English is an amalgam of the languages, dialects, and traditions that have contributed to this nation’s great “melting pot.” The addition of relatively new immigrant groups in the last half century or so, along with the combination of both historic and modern regional differences in a geographically large country, combine to create a complex mix of language that is, at times, confusing to this native speaker—so much so that I can only imagine the impact on someone who is trying to learn English.

With all that as a backdrop, I introduce this week’s phrase:

Originating in various forms in Great Britain sometime in the 19th century, “kit and caboodle” is a slang expression referring to “everything” or “all of it.”

The first part of the phrase will be familiar to those of us who recognize the word “kit” for its association with the essentials contained in a soldier’s backpack or a sailor’s seabag. Historically “kit” is likely related to the Dutch word “kitte,” referring to a cask or tub constructed of wooden staves, but the term was eventually broadened to include a collection of tools necessary for a particular job, all of which might have been carried in containers such as baskets, knapsacks, and valises.

Caboodle (also kaboodle) is a bit more mysterious. Most sources believe it is based on the word “boodle,” meaning “a crowd or pack” of people or things. For a period of time during the late 19th century, boodle was used in the U.S. to refer to large sums of money, especially money that was illegally obtained through bribery or some other form of corruption. The phrase was finalized, at least in its current form, when the hard “ca” sound was added to the beginning of “boodle” simply because it made the entire phrase more fun to say.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – -
Posted for Jenny Matlock’s AlphabeThursday study of the letter “K.” For Round 5 of this long-running meme, I am focusing on colloquialisms and idioms—words and phrases that are unique to a region or have meanings that aren’t necessarily discernible from the combined meanings of the individual words. I hope you’ve enjoyed this week’s exploration of American English as much as I have.
- – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – -
Sources for this post include:
Wikipedia ~ Kaboodle
The Word Detective ~ kit and caboodle
World Wide Words ~ kit and caboodle

16 thoughts on “All that and more!

  1. I am really enjoying reading this fun series!

    You’re really teaching me a lot and also teachming me that I don’t know as much as I thought about our language!

    Really klever link for the letter ‘K’.

    A+

  2. That was fun! There are certainly lots of sayings and phrases that we use up here that are virtually unknown south of the border – and visa versa.

  3. Wanda – I’m with you in admiration for those who learn a second language – quite an accomplishment to be sure. This was a fun one – I had to smile at the fact that the “ca” was added just because it was fun to say :)

  4. I have always heard my dad say it all throughout my childhood and have never understood the second part of it. At least now thanks to you, I have an understanding. Thanks!!!

  5. love to come to your blog to learn more about words. idioms are fascinating and always interesting to learn the history of! thanks for sharing.

  6. Now, that’s interesting. The other night here we were talking about words which originated in GB and are still used in the States but not here anymore.

  7. And the lessons continue….. each week I become a touch smarter reading your posts. BTW I have also enjoyed several of your compartriots posts as well. Bill

  8. SO interesting because it is a phrase I use. These forays into phrase meanings are so good for putting some of those jigsaw pieces together. Thank you!

  9. Well, I never knew this! I’ve always loved the phrase for its alliteration, and I delighted to know of its origins too.

Thanks for stopping by...I read (and appreciate) each comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

